Hansen's Your Independent Grocer Reviews

62 Thames Rd E, Exeter, ON N0M 1S3

(519) 235-6131



Write a review

The Gist : friendly, helpful, independent, great, regular, clean, excellent, interested, reduced, organic

  • 9229th visitor ★ Poor 1 out of 5 / Mobile review

    Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2016-02-17 21:47:27

    in response to: I work for Hansen ' s in ...

    Ya that Dave russel is a dick he has no coustamer. Service skills and doesn't listen to anything you have to say he is rude and should be replaced


    Comment on 9229th visitor's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
    1. Tao ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

      Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2014-08-09 13:55:35

    2. Mirador ★★★★ Very Good 4 out of 5

      Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2014-08-01 12:00:59 #life #smile

      Very Good. I give high praise to Mike, Michelle and their entire staff! Every department is seemingly organized. Great selection and good value to be found. Maybe it's just me, but I find them ALL easy to get along with & friendly. Especially when I approach them with a smile and mean it when I say "hey, how are you?!" My mom always said, you get more out of life with honey than vinegar or sour grapes. And anyone that listed below their "requests" (more organic, fresher produce, etc), well I believe Hansen's has addressed them. As for the tech that didn't wash her hands, well, I for one have forgotten to do that the odd time. Nice to point out but I may have said something there & then. Yes you risk embarrassing them, but better to get things done sooner than later. Have a great day one & all!


      Comment on Mirador's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
      1. Cigarbox ★★★★ Very Good 4 out of 5

        Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2014-05-12 17:46:53

      2. Fill ★★★★ Very Good 4 out of 5

        Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2014-04-18 15:23:41 #day

        Very Good, this is not the first time we have been there but on several occassions we have asked a young man by the name of Chris for information. What a fine gentleman he was, he took time out of his day to help us out and was so polite. Just what us seniors need.


        Comment on Fill's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
        1. Stampede ★★★ Good 3 out of 5

          Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2014-02-24 18:07:36 #flowers

          At around 7:30 someone comes over the PA system and says everything is on sale in the hmr hotcase now until around 8 oclock I think the store should specify what HMR stands for because I still dont know what it means and what they mean by hotcase. Also, some customers get their flowers wrapped and I have never been offered, I think that if you are going to wrap some customers flowers, you should atleast make a sign for other people to ask and be aware if they want their flowers wrapped. Other than that, overall good store.


          Comment on Stampede's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
          1. Stampede ★★★ Good 3 out of 5

            Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2014-02-24 18:00:39

          2. Agoston ★★★ Good 3 out of 5

            Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2013-11-15 21:03:26 #shopping

            We have been shopping at Hansen' s for years now and have never had a bad experience with any department or with any employee...that is, until today. While waiting for a couple of prescriptions to be filled, the following was observed: the pharmacy tech completed a cash sale, THEN went back to counting pills (out of her hands). She had neither washed her hands or sterilized them...Nor was she wearing gloves. I think that from a health and safety aspect, this procedure needs to be addressed/reviewed as to ensure there is no cross-contamination.


            Comment on Agoston's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
            1. amere ★ Poor 1 out of 5

              Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2013-11-06 18:00:41

            2. Encan ★★★ Good 3 out of 5

              Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2013-07-12 19:05:13

              I purchased a bag of potatoes recently that were a product of United States. They were quite tasty. But again why do you not sell locally grown potatoes?


              Comment on Encan's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
              1. Horsting ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2013-04-03 11:01:54

                I would like to thank Mike and Michele Hansen for their generous support to the Huron County Food Bank Distribution Center.You are a huge support to our community by assisting us at the Huron County Food Bank Distribution Center in working towards making hunger non-existent in our region. Thank you for Caring!!



                Comment on Horsting's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                1. Kourani ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                  Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2013-02-10 14:48:30 #love #lunch #work

                  I buy my lunch at the HMR counter several times or more a week,and would like to compliment the ladies that work in that dept. I am in and out with my lunch in no time at all, and the food is always fresh, and filling. I enjoy my interaction with these ladies. They always make my day, with their sense of humor and wit. I love having a good laugh with them, and look forward to getting served by them. If they were not working there, I would be finding another place to grab a quick lunch. I sure hope Mike Hansen realizes the two jewels he has working for him in that dept. Hats off to Brenda and Donna. Keep up the good work ladies.!!



                  Comment on Kourani's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                  1. Monkman ★★★ Good 3 out of 5

                    Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2012-09-11 16:58:41

                    in response to: When I shop at Hansens , I ...

                    Do you want them to carry your groceries to your kitchen and cook them too? stop being so damn lazy bitchy and whining, they have to put up with you that is enough.


                    Comment on Monkman's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                    1. Fugi ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                      Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2012-01-28 09:27:15 #free

                      in response to: I had the same experience and ...

                      Are you just looking for a FREE $10.oo voucher again?



                      Comment on Fugi's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                      1. Hobbema ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                        Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2012-01-01 10:12:07

                        in response to: The prpduce in Hansen ' s is ...

                        I had the same experience and wrote to loblaws and they gave me 10$


                        Comment on Hobbema's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                        1. Are you just looking for a FREE $ 10 . oo voucher again ... »more
                      2. Braseiro ★★ Fair 2 out of 5

                        Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2011-12-03 14:26:29

                        The prpduce in Hansen's is horrific, and the produce person Brenda is more interested in socializing than dealing with my complaints.



                        Comment on Braseiro's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                        1. I had the same experience and wrote to loblaws and they ... »more
                      3. Chemali ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                        Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2011-06-18 22:44:16 #cheese #friday #friend #meat #work

                        Dear Mr. Hansen,
                        I write this review to let you know that you have a staff member by the name of Karen who works in the deli dept. who deserves a real pat on the back. On Friday of this week we called at aprox 12 noon to order a cheese and meat tray. Realizing that it was a friday and very busy we were not surprised when we were told that it probally could not be ready until the following day. When asked by Karen why we were needing this we told her it was for a friend who had just lost her husband. Upon hearing this she said she would work through her break and get it done if we
                        could give her 2-3 hrs. It was not even an hour later when she called and said that it was ready. Hats off to Karen and thank you .
                        BMO Staff Hensall


                        Comment on Chemali's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                        1. vinifera ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                          Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2011-01-29 14:22:11 #date #friends #work

                          I work for Hansen's in Exeter, and I agree with some of the comments being written. But on the other side of the coin, sometimes but not always, when a customer has received bad service, one has to look at themselves and the attitude that they have shown to the clerk they are speaking to. It is not their fault there is moldy product, or out of date products, etc. It is up to them to deal with the issue in a polite manner, but sometimes it is extremely hard to do when we are being treated like something on the bottom of their shoe. Being friendly and cordial is usually returned by staff, and I have heard over the last eight years I have been there, how many people think our staff is very friendly. I enjoy working for Mike and Michelle Hansen, and have made many good friends with both staff and customers over the years. But please, if you have a complaint, remember we are also people with feelings, and if you are directing your anger towards us, it is hard for us to try to be pleasant back. Have a nice day, and when you shop at Hansen's, the smiles you receive are free.


                          Comment on vinifera's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                          1. Ya that Dave russel is a dick he has no coustamer ... »more
                        2. Marden ★★★★ Very Good 4 out of 5

                          Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2010-11-07 19:25:53 #work

                          I've only been to Hansen's once, but as an employee of another Independent Grocer, I kind of feel like I should clear some stuff up! One of the common complaints on this page is the reduced merchandise system. Everything has bright pink stickers that say 50% off, but not the final price. I can't speak for every Independent employee, but for my store- we hate it too! Having people constantly ask us the price, is very aggrivating! It's not their fault, by any means. It's the fault of the big shots who sit in an office all day and who've likely never spent an entire day working in a store, actually talking to the people who are the reason they are employed!! (the customers, of course!) At my store we talk frequently about how everyone should work in a grocery store for a few weeks, because there is so much beyond our control that we get blamed for, it's unreal. I've seen our store receive entire shipments of produce that are moudly before entering the store, and when the manager sticks to his morals and refuses to sell it to customers, he gets disciplined. Nice, eh? There's a million and one little examples of things that we wish customers could understand! Anyway, Hansen's is a nice store, I loved the olympic torch relay display in the lobby last year!


                          Comment on Marden's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                          1. Sakari ★★★★ Very Good 4 out of 5

                            Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2010-09-24 20:17:16

                            I find the staff very friendly and helpful for the most part.


                            Comment on Sakari's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                            1. Brooksy ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                              Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2010-09-24 04:14:12

                            2. Kid ★★★ Good 3 out of 5

                              Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2010-08-27 16:05:28

                              Great store, just one thing that's a problem. When you see the big yellow tags showing a product on sale, watch out because it's quite often not in the system and you don't get that price at the till, and you can't see it as it's being rung up because the screen is facing the other way.


                              Comment on Kid's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                              1. amere ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                                Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2010-08-01 13:33:44 #meat

                                I shop at Hanson's on a regular basis, I have found this last year the produce is just terrible. I found mould on my fruit regularly and rotten produce. I have kept all my receipts because I have been returning products regularly. I have seen carrots with 1 inch of rotten water at the bottom of the bags and just waiting for someone to purchase it. Tangarines in crates just full of mould. I have mentioned to the produce clerk that the fruit was very mouldy and she got very angry with me. I spoke to Mike Hansen about his produce and I don't think he gives a shit. Also many products on shelves have long overdue experation dates. I think every person should bring their expired and rotten food back to the store and Let Mike deal with it, maybe he will realize their is a problem and needs to deal with it.



                                Comment on amere's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                1. Do you want them to carry your groceries to your kitchen ... »more
                              2. Indonesian ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                                Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2010-07-16 14:59:59 #look

                                I go to hansens on a regular basis. never have i been more satisfied with a shoping experience. Staff is so helpful, even if i look confused i get asked if i need help. Shelves are always neat, so i can always find what im looking for. There management team is one of a kind. Thanks Hansens!! keep it up...


                                Comment on Indonesian's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                1. Mahjongg ★★ Fair 2 out of 5

                                  Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2010-03-20 07:42:21 #fresh #organic

                                  it would be great to see them sell organic products like fresh fruits and vegetables. it's a pain to have to go to london when there is Hansens right there!!!


                                  Comment on Mahjongg's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                  1. Elgin ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                                    Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2010-02-07 07:15:53 #cheese #love #work

                                    Wow, I think people need to get off themselves. I grew up around here and moved to the city where there are alot more competitive stores. I have since moved back and LOVE Hansens. They have all the PC products that I buy and great produce etc. The "reduced rack" is just that, reduced produce etc. If people are too good for that stuff, move on.
                                    Yes the staff is a little on the unfriendly side, but it is Exeter after all, a very snobby town.
                                    I think putting more Health Friendly Products in the store is a great idea. Just recently bought some Kettle Brand Baked Chips and loved them. But waited too long for Exeter to get them in. I like seeing the reduced fat cheese and other "healthier" products so I dont have to drive down to the USA to get them. Keep up the good work Hansens.


                                    Comment on Elgin's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                    1. Nita ★★ Fair 2 out of 5

                                      Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2009-12-14 19:20:43 #pretty

                                      I usually find what I need there and the staff are pretty friendly considering that most cashiers are high schoolers. The only thing I would suggest that they would do is maybe mark the prices down a notch. Other than that the store has a nice feeling and the people are ok.


                                      Comment on Nita's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                      1. SUNSET ★★ Fair 2 out of 5

                                        Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2009-12-13 18:15:38 #bakery

                                        I live in Exeter, and shop at Hansens on an regular basis - as its the only grocer in town with the square footage to carry the variety of food that we look for. My typical experience is that with a list of 5 items, there is at least one item that is out of stock, or that they don't carry.

                                        The 50% off on rotten produce and bakery goods is also a real turn off. Either give the final price on the sticker, or throw the rotten food out - or both!!!

                                        We often drive into London to buy our groceries at Covent Market or at Trails End, rather than buy the overprices stuff at Hansens.

                                        We've also started going to Holtzmann's more often now that they're open 24 hours. They're a much smaller store, but they seem to want our business more than Hansen's do.


                                        Comment on SUNSET's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                        1. symmetricus ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                                          Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2009-11-24 07:21:26

                                          I was recently in the store to get pictures done, and was very upset with the service, a couple of years ago I was in and had the best help ever, Her name was Crystal, she was so helpful, with my needs, I wish that she could be there still to help out!! I never seem to get the help I used too!! You should hire her back for sure!

                                          Carrie from london


                                          Comment on symmetricus's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                          1. Booze ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                                            Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2009-08-20 09:37:02 #love

                                            I've been shopping at Hanson's for over 5 years now. It is clean, has high quality products, and provides excellent customer service. I wish the prices were more comparible with No Frills in Grand Bend, but I love the shopping experience I have when I go in there- good job guys!


                                            Comment on Booze's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                            1. Stecchino ★★ Fair 2 out of 5

                                              Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2009-05-09 21:17:09

                                              While passing thru Exeter Ont., I had the opportunity to stop at Hansen's your Independant Grocer in Exeter Ont. as I needed to pick up few things I had promised to take to my mother's. Overall the store is clean, staff are not as friendly as I might have imagined but they may be having bad day, it was busy in the store. The one thing I was puzzled by was their practice of pricing reduced items. They have racks near the deli counter with various items reduced for sale. One complaint I had was that 80% of the items did not have original prices on them, instead there was a big pink sticker marked 50% off but it didn't say 50% off of what. I asked one of the staff why the prices weren't on the produce and she replied


                                              Comment on Stecchino's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                              1. Stecchino ★ Poor 1 out of 5

                                                Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2009-05-06 11:55:14 #bakery

                                                I am not surprised at the 3 positive reviews on Hansen's Your Independent Grocer is Exeter, considering one of them says she was egged on by an employee to post it online. I however, cannot be as positive as the 3 customers below. My experience at Hansens Your Independent Grocer was horrendous and I have to differ with the quality of produce, bakery items etc. I purchased and returned same day mouldy bakery items, saw on reduced rack mouldy berries and quashed tomatoes in a bag for sale. I brought this to the attention of the clerk at customer service while returning my mouldy baked goods but she was more interested in socializing with her counterpart. I asked to speak to a manager as obviously the clerk wasn't interested in the fact that the products were unsafe for human consumption but I was told a manager wasn't required for this transaction. In this day and age when food safety is constantly at risk, I think Grocers and their employees should be more cautious and thorough when putting food items out for human consumption.


                                                Comment on Stecchino's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                                1. Olaf ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                                                  Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2009-02-07 10:47:00 #meat

                                                  I was extremely pleased with the quality of meat cuts available, as well as the extremely helpful and corteous worker (Emmett?) at the meat department. I was so pleased I promised to write a review! Hansen's has also become my new store of choice for all of my shopping needs.


                                                  - Rachel Patterson, Exeter Ont.


                                                  Comment on Olaf's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                                  1. Kuatuar ★★★★ Very Good 4 out of 5

                                                    Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2009-01-12 20:00:34

                                                    very good service, clean store with lots of variety.


                                                    Comment on Kuatuar's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                                    1. Mahjongg ★★★★★ Excellent 5 out of 5

                                                      Hansen's Your Independent Grocer review on 2008-11-09 16:58:31 #girl #love

                                                      i loved how it was organized and the service was excellent a girl named crystal helped me find everything i needed and there were many more workers that i would love to thank cause they made my shopping fun, fast, and relaxing all at the same time thank you hansen's independent and hansen's workers!


                                                      Comment on Mahjongg's Review of Hansen's Your Independent Grocer
                                                      How would you rate Hansen's Your Independent Grocer?
                                                      Add a photo (Optional)
                                                      The Fine Print: These reviews are owned by whoever posted them. We are not responsible for them in any way.